Skip to main content

Student Employee of the Year

Student Employee Recognition Week

Each year colleges and universities across the country recognize the importance of the student work experience during National Student Employment Week. This year Student Employee Appreciation Week will be celebrated March 23 – 27, 2020. Brigham Young University has many activities planned. It is recommended that departments recognize the student employees in their area during that week with activities, awards or other recognition.

Nominating Your Student

Join Student Employment and Student Life in celebrating WASEA's (Western Association of Student Employment Administrators) National Student Employment Week by nominating your most outstanding student employees for BYU's Student Employee of the Year. Each department has many qualified and exceptional student employees, and this is a wonderful time for them to be recognized for their efforts. The students selected will be nominated for the state and regional competitions.

The University will honor all nominees with a certificate of appreciation, and the nominating departments will be encouraged to take an appropriate opportunity to recognize all their student employees as well as their nominated students. Individual departments and supervisors are encouraged to nominate their outstanding student employees for University recognition.

To nominate one of your students for state and regional recognition, please submit the nomination form online by 5:00 P.M. on Wednesday, February 19th, 2020. The committee will then select one of the applicants to send to the state competition. The applicant selected by the committee to be BYU Student Employee of the Year will be recognized during Student Employee Appreciation Week, March 23 – 27, 2020.

To be eligible, the nominee must be a current BYU student employee that has completed or will expect to complete at least six (6) months part-time or three (3) months full-time employment during this academic year, April 30, 2019 to April 15, 2020.

To nominate a student, click the button below.

Previous Winners

Year: 2019
Winner: Brenna DeLyn Scadden
Department: OIT-Development Foundations
Nominated by: Nancy M. Norman

Year: 2018
Winner: Dallin Glen Squires
Department: Physics and Astronomy
Nominated by: Jeremy Kenneth Peterson

Year: 2017
Winner: Jaren Michael Oldroyd
Department: University Police
Nominated by: Loyd Russel Fuller

Year: 2016
Winner: Nathan Thomas Hawks
Department: Bean Museum
Nominated by: Kathryn Birgithe Knight

Year: 2015
Winner: Haven Marie Simmons
Department: Catering
Nominated by: Adam Sherman Jones

Year: 2013
Winner: Kelsey Brooke Smith
Department: English
Nominated by: Carolyn Tuitupou

Previous Nominees

2019 Student Employee Of The Year

2018 Student Employee Of The Year

2017 Student Employee Of The Year

2016 Student Employee Of The Year

2015 Student Employee Of The Year