Skip to main content

Benefits Office

COVID-19 Updates as of January 13, 2021:
Benefits Services has returned to 8am-5pm, Monday – Friday office hours. Some employees continue to work remotely. Please call or email the appropriate person for assistance, or feel free to contact us at benefits@byu.edu. New Employee Orientations continue to be conducted via Zoom video conferencing. Please contact emily_k_smith@byu.edu to sign up for New Employee Orientation.

The Benefits Services Office


The Benefits Services Office provides a variety of programs and services for university personnel, spouses, dependents, and retirees. Programs encompass basic insurance coverages (medical, dental, life, and disability), supplemental insurance options (life and accident), retirement programs (pension plan, savings plans), and BYU benefits (flexible spending account, educational benefits, ID cards, activity privileges). These services provide individuals with information, processing, personal data, and general assistance.

Office Number
ASB D-240
Phone: 801-422-4716
Fax Number: 801-422-0306

John Young

July 02, 2020 01:53 PM
Director, Disability Specialist
John_Young@byu.edu
ASB D-244
801-422-6867

Marden Clark

July 02, 2020 02:38 PM
Assistant Director, Retirement Services
marden_clark@byu.edu
ASB D-263
801-422-4486

Cynthia Christensen

July 17, 2020 01:33 PM
Manager, Benefits Operations
cindy.christensen@byu.edu
ASB D-255
801-422-6375

Karmen Diaz

July 17, 2020 01:28 PM
Leaves Manager and Tuition Specialist
karmen_diaz@byu.edu
ASB D-243
801-422-4496

Lois Cottle

July 17, 2020 01:24 PM
Benefits Counselor, Service Awards Programs
lois_cottle@byu.edu
ASB D-240
801-422-5723

Emily Smith

July 22, 2020 09:58 AM
Benefits Counselor, Enrollment Specialist
emily_k_smith@byu.edu
ASB D-240
801-422-6868

Shane Harrison

July 17, 2020 01:39 PM
Organizational & HR Systems Specialist
shane.harrison@byu.edu
ASB A-250
801-422-3231